My First Year Journey At Thoughtworks

My First Year Journey At Thoughtworks

#Thoughtworks #ThoughtworksIndia #TWBloggersClub #LifeAtTWI #LearnAndGrow #FullStackDeveloper

Watch my video about #LifeAtThoughtworks- #WhatIAdmireAboutThoughtworks

Hello Hiveminds, 28th Dec 2021 marks the completion of my first year anniversary @ThoughtWorks. The tenure has been inspiring and challenging since the date of joining. Being entitled as Thoughtworker for a year, I would love to utilize this blogging platform for expressing my experience and journey with Thoughtworks to this world.

HOW IT ALL GOT STARTED

image.png

Imagine a job tailored specifically to fit our passions and strengths, options to keep the responsibilities we love, cut out the duties we dread, and add on projects that we’ve been dying to get our hands-on. Sounds fascinating right? I admit, creating this ideal dream job sounds like a pretty lofty goal.

When I was hunting for such a career change, I got a call from a recruiter from Thoughtworks for an opportunity in mid of 2020. I felt so intrigued as I have heard great things about Thoughtworks since my college days and started preparing for the interview.

It was a virtual interview and all the rounds were completely well organized and recruiters were helping me with the appropriate feedback at right time.

  1. The interview experience,
  2. People I met during the process
  3. Culture at Thoughtworks which I got to know during the interview

All these made me feel Thoughtworks will be the right place where I will get the opportunities to fulfill my dreams. And after cracking a couple of challenging rounds my tenure as Thoughtworker kick-started.

INITIAL DAYS AT THOUGHTWORKS

Finally!!! The day of my new great gig - The first day at Thoughtworks arrived🎉 . It was virtual joining, though missed the chance to visit office premises, had fun-filled Intro sessions by creating intro videos and got a warm welcome message from all Thoughtworkers.

The day started with Mentor and People champions team walking us through the company /policies/ process /events. That made the onboarding a seamless process.

Kept engaged through the sessions on company policies and Bootcamp training for the first couple of weeks.

HOW THOUGHTWORKS CHALLENGED AND IMPACTED ME

If someone asks me, Hey Priya, which drove you to choose software development as a career? my answer would be -- NEW CHALLENGES AND LEARNINGS EVERYDAY 😁

image.png

What's life without challenges? 🥳

And starting from the day of joining, each day at Thoughtworks was filled with exciting challenges and a learning curve. The journey was enriching and I was able to learn at least one thing new every day.

Right from the Bootcamp training till the current project, got to work on the practices and technologies like

  • TDD, XP Practices, Pair Programming, micro-services architecture, Full-stack development, etc.

Despite I had no experience with most of the concepts, was always stirred up and guided towards learning these technologies and expertise on them. Each learning phase was enjoyable and each struggle was worth it.

Pair programming model, TDD, and feedback-driven work culture made this learning possible and since got immense support and guidance from fellow Thoughtworkers to get started and expertise over these new technologies.

Along with this skills improvement, Thoughtworks paved the way to grab opportunities like open source contribution, Anchoring interviews, coding battles driving workshops ..so on. (and this blogging opportunity as well 😁) that enhanced me as a better consultant/software engineer as days went on. And as a bonus motivation received exciting goodies every time I got to explore and try new things- Hurray!!!✌️

CELEBRATIONS AND MOMENTS

Thoughtworks has achieved multiple prominent milestones last year. Every thoughtworker was super happy and proud for celebrating it and I was fortunate enough to be one of them.

moments3 compressed.gif

**Nasdaq public listing** and **Thoughtworks-India 20th year celebration** were the highlights for 2021 and we had celebrations that elapsed for a month. Many events, contests, Dinner & Socials in-person were part of the celebration party and that made these moments more special and memorable.

Another predominant change that happened last year is Lumos - this has been introduced as our new performance and development process. Lumos is comprised of multiple well-designed phases which helped for understanding the archetypes/career growth path and define our goals.

WHAT I ADMIRE ABOUT THOUGHTWORKS

Fast forward to NOW… As I have spent one year at Thoughtworks and would love to share the topmost aspects I admired about Thoughtworks(in no particular order 😁 ) through this video. These are the aspects that made me believe that I’ve landed on my dream job which I was longing for.

FINAL THOUGHTS

Thoughtworks believes and recognizes employees for sustained growth and cares about providing the best workplaces for them. No wonder it's been certified as one of the great workplaces in 2021 all over the world 🥳. But Thoughtworks is not only about the workplace, it is all about:

tw.jpeg

I am glad that this Thoughtworks chapter in my career made me a better professional and human being. I know there is hell a lot to learn and improve for achieving my desires and adding more value to the work I do. And I am grateful to Thoughtworks for being a companion throughout the expedition towards it.

Intrigued for future experiences and challenges at Thoughtworks!

Shared the article on other platforms as well, please check it out on these links: LinkedIn. Medium. TWBlog